ROTHERHAM DGH
AUDIT & QI OPPORTUNITIES

Subspecialty

Sustainability.

 

Project description

Multiple projects ongoing and in planning phase including:

-    RCoA volatiles project.

-    Propofol wastage.

-    RCoA waste management project.

-    National nitrous oxide project.

-    Work on reusable facemasks/ single use items eg. laryngoscopes and facemask disposal.

Opportunities for trainee involvement

Opportunities for involvement in any of these current or related projects. Sustainability an ongoing priority for us.

 

Point of contact

Dr Rob Charles. Email: r.charles1@nhs.net

Resources/Further information

Nitrous Oxide Project

RCoA: Raising The Standards 

Subspecialty

Diabetes/ Perioperative care.

 

Project description

QIPs aiming to improve care of diabetic patients perioperatively.

NCEPOD recommendations for perioperative diabetes and CPOC guidance for the same have been published in recent years and audited. Various areas for development identified.

There will be ongoing QI work and audits of our practice.

Opportunities for trainee involvement

Working with our lead for perioperative diabetes (Dr Jocelyn Lee) to audit our current practice/ develop QI initiatives targeting specific areas for improvement in perioperative care.

 

Point of contact

Dr Jocelyn Lee. Email: jocelyn.lee@nhs.net

Resources/Further information

CPOC: Diabetes

NCEPOD: Diabetes 

Subspecialty

Perioperative Hypothermia.

 

Project description

QIP intended to improve compliance with NICE guidelines and reduce inadvertent perioperative hypothermia.

 

Opportunities for trainee involvement

Establishing QIP. Regular snap audits and run charts.

Making changes at various stages of the process and observing for change.

Educational program/ displays for theatres to assist change in process.

 

Point of contact

Dr Elinor Cromarty. Email: elinor.cromarty@nhs.net

 

Resources/Further information

NICE: Hypothermia and surgery.

Subspecialty

Day Surgery.

 

Project description

Regular opportunities to audit / contribute to QI projects in day surgery.

Day case pathways for THR/TKR and lap hysterectomies recently developed or in development.

Audits of unplanned admissions/ service evaluations of existing pathways.

Audit of new “sip until sent for” fasting policy.

Opportunities for trainee involvement

As above.

 

Point of contact

Dr Kim Russon. Email: krusson@nhs.net

Subspecialty

Critical Care.

 

Project description

Audits of multiple aspects of current GPICS guidance.

 

Opportunities for trainee involvement

Currently developing rolling audit programs for GPICS guidance.

Contributing to GPICS audits.

More info to follow.

Point of contact

Dr Clare Windsor. Email: clare.windsor2@nhs.net

Dr Mark Smith. Email: mark.smith85@nhs.net

 

Resources/Further information

ICS Guideline for service provision. 

Subspecialty

Perioperative medicine/patient experience.

 

Project description

Perioperative Fasting.

We have recently introduced new perioperative fasting guidance which includes a “sip until sent for” policy following on from audits and service evaluations which demonstrated prolonged fasting times and a lack of awareness by staff of the guidance.

Audit/ service evaluation of new guidance.

Opportunities for trainee involvement

Audit/service evaluation of fasting guidance.

Educational input into raising awareness of changes in fasting policy as part of ongoing fasting QIP.

 

Point of contact

Dr Elinor Cromarty. Email: elinor.cromarty@nhs.net